Lander University in Greenwood, SC

March 13, 2009

I grew up visiting Greenwood, SC at least once a year. My grandparents moved there when I was a kid, so the small town outside of Greenville, SC was very familiar to me when I visited to perform at Lander University last night.

I was scheduled to arrive the day before so I could spend some time with Grandma and Grandpa and my aunt and cousins who live there as well. I missed my flight leaving Columbus, which put a damper on the hanging out with family. I thought I was early, but it turns out, I looked at the ticket wrong and I was actually 1 minute too late. When I arrived at the gate, the plane was sitting there, they had JUST shut the door and they were pulling the bridge away. So I got on the next flight out 3 hours later.

Little fact: I always sit by the window. I’m not a big guy, so I rarely feel cramped. And I like to lean my head against the side of the plane if I’m taking a nap. But my seat to Greenville sucked. Here’s an example of a bad airline seat:

Uploaded - 3\139-2

Arriving in Greenwood was pretty neat, as I recognized a lot of the buildings and establishments I had been to as a kid. My hotel was across the road from the Blockbuster where I remember picking out movies with my cousins to watch at Grandma and Grandpa’s house.

Everyone at Lander was really friendly and into what I was doing. We had a pretty good turnout and the auditorium was nice. Here’s a shot of the auditorium when I arrived:

Uploaded - 3\139

And here’s another shot of the theater right before doors opened:

Uploaded - 3\139-1

I’m looking forward to spending the weekend at home – possibly some St. Patty’s day debauchery before heading out to perform at Albertus Magnus in New Haven, CT.

I would love to write more, but I’m absolutely exhausted.

Peace, love and sleeping on the plane,
MK

Leave a Reply

